Ruby Bench Intros

If you would like to help out with the Ruby Bench project, please reply here:

1. Who are you?
  2. What would you like to work on?
  3. How much time can you dedicate to the project?

I’ll start,

Sam Saffron, my blog is at http://samsaffron.com/ , I have always been passionate about all things performance.

I am very tight on time, can help coordinate stuff and assist with some raw scripts and vision.

I have about 2-4 hours max a week I can dedicate to this project.

Hi,

Damien Mathieu. I don’t have much experience in advanced performance tools.
But I would definitely give a hand on the UI and integration part of things.

The amount of time I can dedicate can vary a lot, let’s say it would be between 2 and 7 hours a week.

Hey, I’m Robert Jackson. I’ve been a Ruby programmer for quite a while (mostly Rails related projects), and more recently became a member of the Ember Release Management Team.

I am looking to create the same sort of long running benchmark process for the Ember project, and I think that the efforts here will likely be able to assist with that (if nothing more than to inform the process).

I could work on the backend API service to receive the benchmark numbers, the actual data gathering (benchmark script[s]), and the front-end (possibly an Ember UI consuming the API service?).

I can likely dedicate 10-20 hours per week on this project.

Next steps?

A clean API to run benchmarks and collect results. Perhaps we should use docker, to guarantee versioning. I started working on this, but it quickly can become a house of cards.

Repo is here: https://github.com/SamSaffron/ruby-bench/blob/master/run_bench.rb

Regarding UI, we need to decide if we can use one of the existing ones? clone one? build something entirely new? Extend something existing?

Perhaps we could schedule a kickoff call (hangout/skype/etc) to discuss overall vision so that we are all on the same page and we can come up with a plan.

1 Like